Types of vitiligo

Depending on where vitiligo first appears and how it spreads after onset, Dermatologists have classified different “clinical” types of vitiligo as follows:

Focal vitiligo refers to vitiligo that appears suddenly but then remains confined to a small limited area

Focal vitiligo

Segmental vitiligo normally appears in childhood, and initially spreads quickly but within a year stabilises and then remains unchanged throughout life. It affects only one side of the body.

Segmental vitiligo

Acral vitiligo refers to vitiligo that appears and tends to remain predominantly around the mouth, fingers and toes.

Acral vitiligo

Generalised vitiligo affects widespread areas of the skin and is often symmetric (seen in the same area and extent on each side of the body).

Generalised vitiligo